

PR & Media Helen Hull 16 Thesiger Court, Deakin ACT 2600 Phone 0419 642 961 | Fax 02 6285 2444 www.reia.com.au | media@reia.com.au

> Media Release For Immediate Release 23 March 2018

2018 REIA National Awards for Excellence winners announced

The Real Estate Institute of Australia (REIA) announced the winners of the 13th National Awards for Excellence last night at a gala dinner at Doltone House, Sydney.

REIA President Malcolm Gunning said the awards recognise the best of the best in Australian real estate.

"Real estate professionals from across the country converged on Sydney last night in what was a great show of how strong our industry is. We saw winners from right across the board which highlights that our profession is not just about our largest states and cities but has outstanding achievers everywhere," Mr Gunning said.

In particular Western Australia saw outstanding results with winners in four categories, including Mint Real Estate Claremont which took out Small Residential Agency of the Year and Mint Real Estate Claremont's Peter Clements was also awarded Residential Salesperson of the Year.

Medium Residential Agency of the Year was awarded to the ACT's Peter Blackshaw Woden & Weston Creek which also saw Emily Antill accept Corporate Support Person of the Year.

South Australia's Toop&Toop Real Estate has taken out back to back Large Residential Agency of the Year and Innovation awards and the agency was inducted into the Hall of Fame for taking out the Communications award in 2015, 2016 and 2017. Western Australian Buyer's Agent Kent Cliffe was also inducted into the Hall of Fame for his wins in the Buyer's Agent of the Year category in 2015, 2016 and 2017.

Tasmania's Liam Coyle of Knight Frank won Commercial Property Manager of the Year, Commercial Agency of the Year went to Colliers International Victoria and Buyer's Agent of the Year was awarded to New South Wales' Amanda Gould of HighSpec Properties.

Mr Gunning presented the prestigious President's Award for 2018, recognising significant contribution made by an individual to the real estate profession to David Airey, managing director of Airey Real Estate in Western Australia.

"A real estate practitioner since 1973 and licensed agent since 1976, David Airey served on REIWA's Council from 2003-2015, was REIWA's longest serving president from 2011-2015, an REIA board member from 2006-2012 and REIA President from 2009-2011.

"A residential and commercial property expert, he served on most REIWA committees and networks, and in 2017 was awarded REIWA's prestigious Kevin Sullivan Memorial Award. A prominent media spokesman since the 1990s he been very giving of his time and works tirelessly for the benefit of the profession," Mr Gunning said.

The recipients of the 2018 REIA National Awards for Excellence can be viewed on page 2 of this media release. Images are available on request. The Real Estate Institute of Australia (REIA) is the national professional association for real estate agents in Australia. For further information or to speak with REIA President Malcolm Gunning please contact Helen Hull via media@reia.com.au or 0419 642 961.

2018 National Awards for Excellence Winners President's Award

WA David Airey

Large Residential Agency of the Year sponsored by VIEW

SA Toop&Toop Real Estate

Medium Residential Agency of the Year sponsored by VIEW

ACT Peter Blackshaw Woden & Weston Creek

Small Residential Agency of the Year sponsored by Terri Scheer

WA Mint Real Estate Claremont

Commercial Agency of the Year sponsored by JLT

VIC Colliers International Victoria

Residential Salesperson of the Year sponsored by VIEW

WA Peter Clements - Mint Real Estate Claremont

Commercial Salesperson of the Year sponsored by Industrie Media

VIC Lewis Tong – CBRE

Achievement Award sponsored by VIEW

ACT Chantel Jones – Independent Property Group

Communications Award sponsored by RECON Daily

NSW Chadwick Real Estate

Innovation Award sponsored by Rockend

SA Toop & Toop Real Estate

Community Service Award sponsored by Terri Scheer

TAS Key2 Property

Commercial Property Manager of the Year sponsored by My Connect

TAS Liam Coyle - Knight Frank

Residential Property Manager of the Year sponsored by Terri Scheer

WA Laura Levisohn – M Residential

Corporate Support Person of the Year sponsored by JLT

ACT Emily Antill – Peter Blackshaw Woden & Weston Creek

Buyer's Agent of the Year sponsored by REI Forms Live

NSW Amanda Gould - HighSpec Properties

Business Broker of the Year sponsored by RECON Daily

SA Simon Winter – Raine & Horne Business Sale

HALL OF FAME

SA Toop&Toop Real Estate

Communications award 2015, 2016 and 2017

WA Buyer's Agent Kent Cliffe

Buyer's Agent of the Year category in 2015, 2016 and 2017