

16 Thesiger Court, Deakin ACT 2600 Phone 02 6282 4277 I Fax 02 6285 2444 www.reia.com.au I media@reia.com.au

> Media Release 22 March 2019

Winners of the REIA National Awards for Excellence 2019 announced

The Real Estate Institute of Australia (REIA) announced the winners of the 14th National Awards for Excellence last night at a gala dinner held at Crown Perth.

REIA President Adrian Kelly said the awards acknowledge and recognise the best of the best in Australian real estate.

"More than 250 real estate professionals from across Australia converged on Perth last night indicating just how strong our industry is," Mr Kelly said.

"Winners were recognised from most of the states and territories highlighting it is not just the larger states and metropolitan cities taking home the awards but there where outstanding achievers from everywhere."

In particular the Australian Capital Territory saw outstanding results with winners in four categories, including Colliers International (ACT) which took out Commercial Agency of the Year, Rupert Cullen of Colliers International (ACT) taking home Commercial Property Manager of the Year. The Independent Property Group Tuggeranong won the Innovation award and Peter Blackshaw Real Estate won the Community Service award.

South Australia's Toop&Toop Real Estate was recognised as Large Residential Agency of the Year, for the third year in a row, entitling them to be inducted into the REIA Hall of Fame in 2020 for this category. Toop&Toop Real Estate were the recipients of the inaugural REIA Hall of Fame Certificate of Merit after successfully taking out the Innovation category in 2016, 2017 and 2018. Toop&Toop Real Estate has already been inducted into the REIA Hall of Fame for Innovation in 2009. It what was an outstanding night for the agency as Kirk Fernandez also of Toop&Toop Real Estate won the Achievement Award.

Nikki Katz of Benchmark Business Sales & Valuations in South Australia won Business Broker of the Year and Tara Stokes of Harris Real Estate in South Australia took home Corporate Support Person of the Year.

Tasmania's Tameka Smith of Key2 Property won Residential Property Manager of the Year and Medium Residential Agency of the Year went to Harcourts Huon Valley Tasmania.

Peter Clements of Mint Real Estate Claremont has taken back to back Residential Salesperson of the Year and Rentwest Solutions in Western Australia won the Communications Award.

Brett Diston of Ray White Commercial in Victoria won Commercial Salesperson of the Year with Network Pacific Real Estate in Victoria winning Small Residential Agency of the Year.

Rich Harvey of Propertybuyer in New South Wales won Buyer's Agent of the Year.

Mr Kelly presented the prestigious President's Award for 2019 to John Cunningham of Cunninghams Real Estate in New South Wales, recognising significant contribution made by an individual to the real estate profession.

"In the last 12 months alone, John has done more for our industry than most agents will ever do in their entire career," Mr Kelly said.

"John has been a driving force behind the Pathway to Professionalism program and has fought for education and training reforms in his home state of New South Wales. He is the best of the best and a well deserving winner.

"Thanks are also extended to REIA's 2019 national award sponsors: Terri Scheer, Printforce, RECON, CoreLogic, PEXA, Rockend, AON and VaultRE their continued support for the real estate industry is appreciated," Mr Kelly concluded.

The Real Estate Institute of Australia (REIA) is the national professional association for real estate agents in Australia. For further information or interview opportunities, please contact Helen Hull on 0419 642 961.

WINNERS: REIA National Awards for Excellence 2019

REIA Hall of Fame Certificate of Merit

Toop&Toop Real Estate
South Australia

REIA President's Award

John Cunningham Cunninghams Real Estate New South Wales

Achievement Award – sponsored by RECON

Kirk Fernandez – Toop&Toop Real Estate South Australia

Buyer's Agent of the Year - sponsored by RECON

Rich Harvey Propertybuyer New South Wales

Business Broker of the Year - sponsored by AON

Nikki Katz
Benchmark Business Sales & Valuations
South Australia

Commercial Agency of the Year - sponsored by VaultRE

Colliers International (ACT) Australian Capital Territory

Commercial Property Manager of the Year - sponsored by AON

Rupert Cullen Colliers International (ACT) Australian Capital Territory

Commercial Salesperson of the Year - sponsored by CoreLogic

Brett Diston Ray White Commercial Victoria

Communications Award - sponsored by PEXA

Rentwest Solutions Western Australia

Community Service Award - sponsored by PEXA

Peter Blackshaw Real Estate Australian Capital Territory

Corporate Support Person of the Year - sponsored by VaultRE

Tara Stokes Harris Real Estate South Australia

Innovation Award - sponsored by Rockend

Independent Property Group Tuggeranong

Australian Capital Territory

Large Residential Agency of the Year - sponsored by PrintForce Toop&Toop Real Estate South Australia

Medium Residential Agency of the Year - sponsored by PrintForce Harcourts Huon Valley Tasmania

Small Residential Agency of the Year - sponsored by Terri Scheer Network Pacific Real Estate Victoria

Residential Property Manager of the Year - sponsored by Terri Scheer Tameka Smith Key2 Property Tasmania

Residential Salesperson of the Year - sponsored by CoreLogic Peter Clements Mint Real Estate Claremont Western Australia